top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturevirginia speidel

Does Pitchfork's opinion have to influence mine? & other thoughts

With summer comes the exciting, tantalizing #festyseason, an amazing time of the year that begins with Coachella in April and abruptly ends once people are out of energy and money. They spark some debate for me, however; they seem to merge at this strange intersection of a giant fashion show and a place for like, HUGE music fans to show off how they have like, such a wide array of artists they to listen to (like when your friend sees the lineup and excitedly reads off names of artists that neither of you actually know.)


I follow a lot of music blogs and social medias accounts, primarily through Instagram. One of them is Pitchfork. Pitchfork is a really admirable company because of its consistent knowledge of artists that exist in all possible genres and realms. To be honest, I don't know a lot of the bands whose songs they deem as "Best New Music" every Friday. And for some reason that makes me feel...bad. Unqualified. Like I shouldn't want to be in the music industry, nor do I have a place there.


Music blogs and websites are meant to showcase diversity in the music world, especially when it comes to large-scale publications like Pitchfork. However, following Pitchfork on Instagram makes me feel horribly left out. For example, Pitchfork and NPR Music both sent reporters/social media people out to Coachella to document the bands. Among these posts came claims like, "BROCKHAMPTON is the future of music," and, "if you don't know Kali Uchis, you need to get familiar." And I, the music sucker who wants to seem knowledgable and cultured, listened to those artists' albums to feel in the loop. But in reality? Those artists just aren't my taste. Sure, there are some great songs hidden in their repertoire, but they just aren't me. And yet, I'm left feeling like my lack of knowledge and enjoyment concerning up-and-coming artists puts me at a disadvantage.


Aren't the varying tastes and opinions of people working in the industry a reason why the industry is so great and diverse? If I don't like Pitchfork's "Best New Music" playlist on Spotify, does that mean I'm not fit to have a voice in the music world? Do I have to follow the trends and likes of those major music publications?


I know that the answer is no. But those companies can't help but make me feel guilty when they suggest songs or artists I don't end up liking. I listen to these artists and basically force myself to like them, thinking that if I like every artist that Pitchfork showcases on their Coachella Instagram story, it will give me a leg up in the music business, when the truth is, I should focus on what I do know and love. I know that my own personal music taste makes me unique and gives me a unique perspective on the industry. For those publications, it comes down reporting and investigating new music, because that's what music journalism is.


I'm always going to take Pitchfork and NPR's opinions seriously. They reach basically every type of audience and music lover out there. But as blossoming music lovers and aspiring music professionals, our place in the music industry doesn't come from how many artists we know (even if it helps to be familiar with a diverse group); it comes from our drive, persistence, passion, and the understanding that loving music is just one part of it.


0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


Music journalism | Art and culture | Songwriting

bottom of page